A Programme on Energy, Environment and Sustainable Development

AFREPREN Masters Degree Programs Scholarships for the  Year 2001-2002

(Call for Application Closed on 31st May, 2001)



With financial support from the Swedish Agency for International Cooperation (Sida), the African Energy Policy Research Network (AFREPREN) is sponsoring 15 Masters Degree scholarships on energy policy offered at the University of Cape Town, South Africa, over the 2000-2002 period starting from the year 2000. The scholarships for Masters degree programs on energy policy were provided on a competitive basis and were open to AFREPREN members as well as non-members from Eastern and Southern Africa. The first lot of scholarships for the year 2000-2001 have already been allocated. The second and final lot of scholarships for year 2001-2002 have been awarded. The scholarships are restricted to the energy policy masters degree course offered at the University of Cape Town, South Africa. The scholarships cover both tuition and living expenses as well as air travel costs.

Courses Considered for Sponsorship

Preference was given to application for Masters Degree Courses (MSc and MA) on energy policy from the University of Cape Town that focus on the focal subject areas of AFREPREN, namely:

  • Renewable Energy;

  • Rural Energy Issues;

  • Energy Services for the Urban Poor;

  • Energy Sector Reform,

  • Energy Efficiency, Environment and Climate issues such as:

- demand side management in the industrial sector,

- energy recovery from industrial waste,

- non-motorized transport in urban areas.

Scholarship for  the  Year 2001

AFREPREN has finalized selections for 2001 and is not accepting late applications.

Details on the next set of Scholarships to be offered will be communicated on this website as soon as the requisite funding is mobilized.



Contact: AFREPREN, Elgeyo Marakwet Close, Kilimani, P.O. Box 30979, 00100 GPO, Nairobi, Kenya. Tel: +254-20-566032/571467/573714/5604003 Fax: +254-20-561464/566231 E -mail:, Principal Contacts: Stephen Karekezi, Lugard Majoro and Jack Muthui